Welactin for dogs: what the label says about EPA and DHA
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.
Welactin is Nutramax's fish oil line for dogs, sold as softgels, soft chews and two liquids. The label amounts range from 255 mg EPA+DHA in a softgel to 1,330 mg in one 6 mL scoop of liquid. The maker does not name the fish species or list a NASC seal on the pages we checked.
This is an independent read of the manufacturer's label data. It is not a test of the product and it is not veterinary advice. Numbers come from Nutramax's own product pages, checked on the date shown in each card below. Our method is on the methodology page.
The Welactin line at a glance
Four products are in our catalog. Sorted by EPA+DHA in one serving, they compare like this. Remember that a serving is a different thing in each row: a softgel, a chew or a scoop.
| Product | Form | Serving | EPA | DHA | EPA+DHA / serving | EPA+DHA / mL | NASC seal | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nutramax Welactin Canine Omega-3 Liquid (16 fl oz) | liquid | 6 mL | — | — | 1,330 mg | 222 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Nutramax Welactin Advanced 3TA Omega-3 Liquid (8 fl oz) | liquid | 2 mL | 530 mg | 350 mg | 880 mg | 440 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Nutramax Welactin Canine Softgels (120 ct) | softgel | 1 softgel | 155 mg | 100 mg | 255 mg | — | — | Check price on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Nutramax Welactin Canine Soft Chews (60 ct) | chew | 1 chew | 155 mg | 100 mg | 255 mg | — | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
Label data from manufacturer websites and published label text, checked October 13, 2026. How we compare.
Softgels and soft chews: the same amounts
Nutramax Welactin Canine Softgels (120 ct) lists 155 mg EPA and 100 mg DHA per softgel, 255 mg combined. The soft chew lists the same 255 mg per chew, plus ETA (eicosatetraenoic acid) and beta-glucan, which are not omega-3s you can add to an EPA+DHA total. The label direction for both is the same style: 1 softgel daily per 20 lb body weight.
Because the amount per piece is modest, larger dogs need several pieces a day to reach the range we describe below, and a container empties faster than its count suggests. Chews are also a food-like treat, so the extra calories and any ingredients you avoid matter. Our liquid vs softgel vs chews page covers that trade-off.
The liquids: where the numbers get larger
The standard liquid scoop is 6 mL, with 1,330 mg of combined EPA+DHA. That works out to 222 mg per mL. Nutramax publishes only the combined figure for this product, with no separate EPA and DHA line, so we cannot tell you the ratio between them.
Nutramax Welactin Advanced 3TA Omega-3 Liquid (8 fl oz) is a more concentrated liquid. Its serving is 2 mL and lists 530 mg EPA and 350 mg DHA, which is 440 mg per mL. The label marks these values as ethyl ester, a form made by processing the natural triglyceride oil. Nutramax gives two scoop counts by weight for this product, labeled "broad spectrum" and "joint health". Those are the maker's labels, not our claims, and the second count is roughly double the first. Ask your veterinarian whether either applies to your dog. We will not pick a number for you.
How it compares with other liquids
Per mL, the standard Welactin liquid (222 mg) sits close to Iceland Pure Salmon Oil Pharmaceutical Grade & Unscented (17 fl oz) (215 mg) and below Nordic Naturals Omega-3 Pet (liquid, dogs) (248 mg) and Deley Naturals Icelandic Wild-Caught Omega 3 Fish Oil for Dogs (16 fl oz pump) (269 mg). Advanced 3TA, at 440 mg per mL, is well above all of them in this group, so you give less volume for the same EPA+DHA. More per mL is not automatically better: it only means a smaller measure. See the full ranked list on best fish oil for dogs.
What the Welactin label does and does not tell you
- EPA and DHA amounts: disclosed for every product we list, though the standard liquid gives only the combined figure.
- Fish species and source: not named on the Welactin pages we read. Compare that with brands that list sardines, anchovies or pollock.
- Molecular form: stated only for Advanced 3TA (ethyl ester). Not stated for the others.
- NASC Quality Seal: not shown on the pages we checked, so our tables show a dash rather than "Yes" or "No". Check the bottle itself.
- Third-party testing: not stated on the pages we checked.
- Servings per container: listed or calculable for each pack; see the cards.
Who Welactin fits, and who should look elsewhere
It may suit you if you want a well-known brand with a label that spells out EPA+DHA per piece, and you prefer softgels, chews or a measured scoop to a pump. It fits households that want one product in several forms, for instance chews for a picky dog and liquid for a large one.
Look elsewhere if you want the fish species named, a visible NASC seal, or a pump-bottle oil. Welactin Canine is labeled for dogs. For cats, see fish oil for cats. Dogs who are already on a diet or medication affected by omega-3, or who have pancreatitis or a bleeding disorder, need a veterinarian's input before any fish oil, a topic we cover on fish oil side effects in dogs.
How to dose it using the label
Do not rely on "one softgel per 20 lb" alone. Work from the EPA+DHA on the label. A board-certified veterinary nutritionist has published 50 to 75 mg of combined EPA+DHA per kg of body weight per day as a supplemental range for adult dogs, and the National Research Council set a safe upper limit of about 370 mg times body weight in kg to the 0.75 power per day, counting what the food already supplies. Our dosage calculator turns your dog's weight and a product's label numbers into whole softgels or chews, or a liquid volume. Ask your veterinarian before you start, especially for senior dogs or dogs with health conditions.
The product cards
Each card repeats the label data we recorded and links to the Nutramax page it came from.
Nutramax Welactin Canine Softgels (120 ct)
- Form
- softgel
- Oil source
- fish blend
- Serving
- 1 softgel
- EPA per serving
- 155 mg
- DHA per serving
- 100 mg
- EPA+DHA per serving
- 255 mg
- Servings per container
- 120
- Container lasts, 50 lb dog
- about 17 to 27 days at the maintenance range
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
- Label dosing
- 1 softgel daily per 20 lb body weight
Nutramax Welactin Canine Soft Chews (60 ct)
- Form
- chew
- Oil source
- fish blend
- Serving
- 1 chew
- EPA per serving
- 155 mg
- DHA per serving
- 100 mg
- EPA+DHA per serving
- 255 mg
- Servings per container
- 60
- Container lasts, 50 lb dog
- about 8 to 14 days at the maintenance range
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
- Label dosing
- 1 chew per 20 lb (1/2 chew per 10 lb) daily
Nutramax Welactin Canine Omega-3 Liquid (16 fl oz)
- Form
- liquid
- Oil source
- fish blend
- Serving
- 6 mL
- EPA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- DHA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- EPA+DHA per serving
- 1,330 mg
- EPA+DHA per mL
- 222 mg
- Servings per container
- 78.9
- Container lasts, 50 lb dog
- about 61 to 93 days at the maintenance range
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
- Label dosing
- Scoops/day: 5-9 lb 1/2 every other day; 10-19 lb 1/2; 20-44 lb 1; 45-79 lb 1.5; 80-114 lb 2; 115+ lb 2.5 (6 mL scoop)
Nutramax Welactin Advanced 3TA Omega-3 Liquid (8 fl oz)
- Form
- liquid
- Oil source
- fish blend
- Serving
- 2 mL
- EPA per serving
- 530 mg
- DHA per serving
- 350 mg
- EPA+DHA per serving
- 880 mg
- EPA+DHA per mL
- 440 mg
- Servings per container
- 118.3
- Container lasts, 50 lb dog
- about 61 to 92 days at the maintenance range
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
- Label dosing
- Maker's label table, in the maker's own wording (not our claim): scoops by weight, e.g. 21-26 lb: 1 scoop for "broad spectrum" / 2 for "joint health"; 51-59 lb: 2 / 4. Ask your vet which, if either, applies to your dog.
Questions about Welactin
Frequently asked questions
What is Welactin used for?
Nutramax describes Welactin as an omega-3 fish oil supplement to support skin and coat health and overall wellness in dogs, and its page also lists joint, heart, kidney, brain and vision support. Those are the maker's statements, not our findings. If your dog has a health problem, ask your veterinarian whether and how much omega-3 makes sense.
How long does Welactin take to work?
The Nutramax product page we checked gives no timeline, and we did not find a published one for this product. Any timeline you read elsewhere is an estimate. What the label does tell you is how much EPA and DHA each serving contains, which is the number to track with your veterinarian.
Is Welactin the same as fish oil?
Yes, Welactin is a fish oil product: the maker's page calls it omega-3 fish oil. The label does not name the fish species. What differs between fish oils is the EPA and DHA content per serving, the form, and what the maker discloses.
Related: Nordic Naturals Omega-3 Pet review, omega-3 for dogs. Page updated October 13, 2026 by the PetFishOilGuide editorial team.