Best fish oil for cats: compare omega-3 products by label
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.
To compare fish oil for cats, look at the EPA plus DHA in one serving and in each mL, not the "fish oil" milligrams on the front. Cats are small, so the serving size matters as much as the strength. No safe upper limit exists for cats, so ask your vet how much to give.
Fish oil for cats, omega-3 for cats and "best fish oil for cats" all lead to the same question: what is actually in the bottle? Labels use drops, mL, teaspoons, pumps and softgels, and some print only total fish oil. This page lines up the label numbers from the makers' websites. We show no prices, and affiliate links do not change the order. See how we compare for the method.
For cats we do label math only. We do not calculate a dose, because nobody has published a safe upper limit for cats. The reasons are in the cautions below. If you also have a dog, the dog pages start at fish oil for dogs and omega-3 for dogs.
Fish oil for cats: products with published EPA and DHA
This table lists products labeled for cats, or for both dogs and cats, whose makers publish EPA and DHA. Serving sizes differ a lot, so a higher number per serving can simply mean a bigger serving. Use the next table to compare strength.
| Product | Form | Serving | EPA | DHA | EPA+DHA / serving | EPA+DHA / mL | NASC seal | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seapet Omega PURE Fish Oil for Cats (4 fl oz) | liquid | 1 tsp | 810 mg | 540 mg | 1,350 mg | 274 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Paramount Pet Health Omega-3 Fish Oil for Dogs & Cats (16 fl oz) | liquid | 1 tsp | 800 mg | 500 mg | 1,300 mg | 264 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Paramount Pet Health Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil for Dogs & Cats (16 fl oz) | liquid | 1 tsp | 423 mg | 465 mg | 888 mg | 180 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Deley Naturals Alaskan Wild-Caught Salmon Oil Plus Formula (16 fl oz pump) | liquid | 1 tsp | 515 mg | 325 mg | 840 mg | 170 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Ultra Oil Ultra Oil Skin and Coat Supplement (16 fl oz) | liquid | 1 tsp | 550 mg | 276 mg | 826 mg | 168 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| NaturVet Salmon Oil for Skin & Coat (dogs and cats) | liquid | 1 tsp | 404 mg | 414 mg | 818 mg | 166 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| NaturVet Salmon Oil for Cats (liquid pump) | liquid | 1 tsp | 280 mg | 365 mg | 645 mg | 131 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| PetWellbeing Omega-3 Icelandic Fish Oil for Cats (8 fl oz pump) | liquid | 2 mL | 320 mg | 210 mg | 530 mg | 265 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Stratford Animal Health (Swedencare) Omega 3 Soft Chews (small dogs and cats) | chew | 1 chew | 270 mg | 180 mg | 450 mg | — | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| NOW Pets Omega-3 Support Softgels for Dogs & Cats | softgel | 1 softgel | 180 mg | 120 mg | 300 mg | — | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| NOW Pets Omega-3 Mini Gels for Dogs & Cats | softgel | 1 softgel | 180 mg | 120 mg | 300 mg | — | — | Check price on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Nutramax Welactin Feline Omega-3 Liquid (4 fl oz) | liquid | 1.25 mL | — | — | 265 mg | 212 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Nutramax Welactin Feline Softgel Caps (60 ct) | softgel | 1 softgel | 125 mg | 85 mg | 210 mg | — | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Paramount Pet Health Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil for Cats & Small Dogs (dropper) | liquid | 1 mL | 84 mg | 93 mg | 177 mg | 177 mg | — | Check price on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Nutramax Welactin Tidbits Omega-3 for Cats (4.23 oz / 120 g) | powder | 2 g | — | — | 133 mg | — | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
Label data from manufacturer websites and published label text, checked October 13, 2026. How we compare.
Liquid fish oil for cats, ranked per mL
A milliliter is the same on every bottle, so this is the fairest way to compare liquids. For a teaspoon we use 4.93 mL, and for a pump the milliliters the maker states.
| Product | Form | Serving | EPA | DHA | EPA+DHA / serving | EPA+DHA / mL | NASC seal | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seapet Omega PURE Fish Oil for Cats (4 fl oz) | liquid | 1 tsp | 810 mg | 540 mg | 1,350 mg | 274 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| PetWellbeing Omega-3 Icelandic Fish Oil for Cats (8 fl oz pump) | liquid | 2 mL | 320 mg | 210 mg | 530 mg | 265 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Paramount Pet Health Omega-3 Fish Oil for Dogs & Cats (16 fl oz) | liquid | 1 tsp | 800 mg | 500 mg | 1,300 mg | 264 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Nutramax Welactin Feline Omega-3 Liquid (4 fl oz) | liquid | 1.25 mL | — | — | 265 mg | 212 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Paramount Pet Health Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil for Dogs & Cats (16 fl oz) | liquid | 1 tsp | 423 mg | 465 mg | 888 mg | 180 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Paramount Pet Health Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil for Cats & Small Dogs (dropper) | liquid | 1 mL | 84 mg | 93 mg | 177 mg | 177 mg | — | Check price on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Deley Naturals Alaskan Wild-Caught Salmon Oil Plus Formula (16 fl oz pump) | liquid | 1 tsp | 515 mg | 325 mg | 840 mg | 170 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Ultra Oil Ultra Oil Skin and Coat Supplement (16 fl oz) | liquid | 1 tsp | 550 mg | 276 mg | 826 mg | 168 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| NaturVet Salmon Oil for Skin & Coat (dogs and cats) | liquid | 1 tsp | 404 mg | 414 mg | 818 mg | 166 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| NaturVet Salmon Oil for Cats (liquid pump) | liquid | 1 tsp | 280 mg | 365 mg | 645 mg | 131 mg | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
Label data from manufacturer websites and published label text, checked October 13, 2026. How we compare.
How to read labels for cats
- Find EPA and DHA in milligrams per serving. If only "fish oil" or "total omega-3" is printed, you cannot compare the product.
- Check what one serving is. Nutramax Welactin Feline Omega-3 Liquid (4 fl oz) defines a serving as a small measured amount with 265 mg of EPA+DHA. Seapet Omega PURE Fish Oil for Cats (4 fl oz) defines it as a teaspoon with 1,350 mg. The serving sizes differ far more than the oils do.
- Use mg per mL to compare strength. Across the four cat-only liquids named on this page, EPA+DHA runs from 130.9 to 273.9 mg per mL. A stronger oil means a smaller measure for the same EPA and DHA.
- Measure small amounts exactly. Cats are small, so a dropper or small syringe is easier to repeat than a spoon. Do not copy a dog's directions from a label made for both species without asking your vet.
- Ask for a number in mg of EPA+DHA. If your vet gives you one, divide it by the per-mL figure to find the amount of oil. Count the omega-3 already in your cat's food.
Some cat foods already contain EPA and DHA, so ask your vet what your cat's diet already provides.
Picks by form, from the label data
These are not rankings of quality. We did not test any product. Each note says what the published numbers show.
Liquid, strongest per mL
Seapet Omega PURE Fish Oil for Cats (4 fl oz) has the highest EPA+DHA per mL among the cat liquids in our catalog (273.9 mg). Its serving is a full teaspoon, a large measure for a small animal and the hardest of these to measure precisely by spoon. Check the label directions for cats and ask your vet.
Seapet Omega PURE Fish Oil for Cats (4 fl oz)
- Form
- liquid
- Oil source
- anchovy sardine
- Serving
- 1 tsp
- EPA per serving
- 810 mg
- DHA per serving
- 540 mg
- EPA+DHA per serving
- 1,350 mg
- EPA+DHA per mL
- 274 mg
- Servings per container
- 24
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
Liquid with a small defined serving
Nutramax Welactin Feline Omega-3 Liquid (4 fl oz) lists a serving of 265 mg EPA+DHA in a small measured amount (1.25 mL), against a full teaspoon for the Seapet above. For a small cat, a smaller labeled serving can make the label easier to follow. See the Welactin page for the dog version.
Nutramax Welactin Feline Omega-3 Liquid (4 fl oz)
- Form
- liquid
- Oil source
- fish blend
- Serving
- 1.25 mL
- EPA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- DHA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- EPA+DHA per serving
- 265 mg
- EPA+DHA per mL
- 212 mg
- Servings per container
- 94.6
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
Liquid blend, cat-labeled
PetWellbeing Omega-3 Icelandic Fish Oil for Cats (8 fl oz pump) shows 265 mg per mL and a serving measured in mL, which is straightforward to read. The maker lists a mix of anchovies, herring, sardines and mackerel.
PetWellbeing Omega-3 Icelandic Fish Oil for Cats (8 fl oz pump)
- Form
- liquid
- Oil source
- fish blend
- Serving
- 2 mL
- EPA per serving
- 320 mg
- DHA per serving
- 210 mg
- EPA+DHA per serving
- 530 mg
- EPA+DHA per mL
- 265 mg
- Servings per container
- 118.3
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
Salmon oil
NaturVet Salmon Oil for Cats (liquid pump) is a cat-labeled salmon oil with 130.9 mg per mL, lower than the three liquids above. The label shows no servings per container, so we cannot say how long a bottle lasts. More on salmon oil for cats.
NaturVet Salmon Oil for Cats (liquid pump)
- Form
- liquid
- Oil source
- salmon
- Serving
- 1 tsp
- EPA per serving
- 280 mg
- DHA per serving
- 365 mg
- EPA+DHA per serving
- 645 mg
- EPA+DHA per mL
- 131 mg
- Servings per container
- not found on the maker's website
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
Softgel
Nutramax Welactin Feline Softgel Caps (60 ct) lists 210 mg EPA+DHA per softgel and 60 softgels per bottle. A softgel is easy to count, but it cannot be divided into a smaller amount, and many cats refuse capsules.
Nutramax Welactin Feline Softgel Caps (60 ct)
- Form
- softgel
- Oil source
- fish blend
- Serving
- 1 softgel
- EPA per serving
- 125 mg
- DHA per serving
- 85 mg
- EPA+DHA per serving
- 210 mg
- Servings per container
- 60
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
Chew-style
Nutramax Welactin Tidbits Omega-3 for Cats (4.23 oz / 120 g) lists 133 mg EPA+DHA per serving and may suit a cat that takes treats more readily than oil. Compare its per-serving figure with the liquids in the table above before you assume it replaces one.
Nutramax Welactin Tidbits Omega-3 for Cats (4.23 oz / 120 g)
- Form
- powder
- Oil source
- fish blend
- Serving
- 2 g
- EPA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- DHA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- EPA+DHA per serving
- 133 mg
- Servings per container
- 60
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
Cautions for cats
- No safe upper limit exists for cats. The National Research Council (2006) published none at any life stage, according to Lenox, a board-certified veterinary nutritionist (Today's Veterinary Practice, 2016). The dog limit does not apply to cats. That is why we do not give a dose.
- Studies used whole diets. Cat studies of arthritis and kidney disease used therapeutic foods prescribed and monitored by vets. Their amounts are not home supplement doses.
- Avoid cod liver oil unless your vet approves. VCA lists cod liver oil among common causes of vitamin A poisoning, and says cats are more susceptible than dogs.
- Freshness and vitamin E. Fish oil can oxidize, so keep it sealed and cool and discard it if it smells rancid. The Merck Veterinary Manual says it is thought that too much unsaturated fat with too little vitamin E or other antioxidants can cause inflammation of body fat in cats (yellow fat disease).
- Possible effects on blood clotting and wound healing. Lenox lists these among the concerns with excess omega-3. Tell your vet before surgery and about any medicine your cat takes.
- Plant oils are not a substitute. Flaxseed oil does not give cats EPA or DHA (Lenox, 2016).
- Stop and call your vet if your cat vomits, has diarrhea, or stops eating after starting an oil.
For a cat with kidney disease, see fish oil for cats with kidney disease.
Products without published EPA/DHA we could find
These products are sold for cats or for dogs and cats, but we could not find usable EPA and DHA amounts for them. Without the numbers we cannot compare them, so we list them here instead of guessing.
- NaturVet Omega-Gold Soft Chews Plus Salmon Oil (dogs and cats): we could not read the maker's page; the only EPA and DHA figures we saw came from retailers (checked 2026-10-13) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Nordic Naturals Omega-3 Cat (liquid, 2 fl oz): the maker's cat page gives dose volumes but no EPA and DHA amounts, and retailer figures conflict (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Paramount Pet Health Omega-3 Fish Oil for Cats & Small Dogs (2 fl oz dropper): the maker's page does not state the dropper volume, and its figures match the per-teaspoon values of the larger bottle (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Pet Honesty Omega-3 Fish Oil for Dogs and Cats (32 fl oz): the maker's pages list conflicting EPA and DHA figures without a defined serving (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Vetoquinol Triglyceride OMEGA Liquid Pump (8 fl oz, dogs and cats): the maker lists total fish oil per serving but not EPA and DHA (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Vital Pet Life Fish Oil for Dogs and Cats (salmon + pollock, 64 fl oz): a search extract shows minimum EPA and DHA figures but the serving they apply to is unclear, and we could not open the maker page (checked 2026-10-13) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Vital Pet Life Salmon Oil for Dogs & Cats (32 fl oz): the published label figures are internally inconsistent (EPA and DHA exceed the stated total omega-3) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Zesty Paws Hairball Bites for Cats (60 soft chews): the maker page does not state how many chews make a serving, and it is a hairball product rather than a plain omega-3 supplement (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Zesty Paws Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil (pollock + salmon, 16 fl oz pump): the maker's page gives marketing text without EPA and DHA amounts (checked 2026-10-13) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
Where to go next
- Salmon oil for cats: salmon oil compared with blends.
- Fish oil for cats with kidney disease: what the evidence does and does not show.
- How we compare: where the numbers come from.
Frequently asked questions
Can I give omega-3 to my cat?
Many cats are given fish oil, and the omega-3 fats EPA and DHA are normal parts of a cat's diet. No safe upper limit has been set for cats, so ask your vet before you start, and tell them what your cat's food already contains.
What's the best omega-3 for cats?
The best choice is a product that prints EPA and DHA per serving and that you can measure in small, exact amounts. Our tables rank by those label numbers. They do not show which product works best for your cat, and your vet can help with that.
Can cats have too many omega-3s?
Possibly. No safe upper limit for EPA and DHA has been published for cats at any life stage (Lenox, Today's Veterinary Practice, 2016). Fish oil may also affect blood clotting and wound healing, so more is not safer. Ask your vet for an amount.
Do vets recommend fish oil for cats?
Some do for specific reasons, and veterinary nutrition articles discuss it. We have no veterinarian on staff and found no single agreed dose, so we cannot say what your vet will advise. Ask them about your cat, the diet and any medicines.
How often should you give a cat fish oil?
Veterinary sources express omega-3 as a daily amount, counting food and supplements together. We do not set one for cats because no upper limit exists. Your vet can tell you whether to give it, how much, and how often.
Can I give human fish oil to my cat?
Human capsules are made for people, and strengths and extras vary. Capsules sized for people can be hard to measure for a cat. Compare the EPA and DHA on the label and ask your vet first. See human fish oil for dogs for how we read those labels.
Is cod liver oil good for cats?
Avoid it unless your vet approves. Cod liver oil is high in vitamin A, and VCA lists it as a common cause of vitamin A poisoning, which cats are more prone to than dogs.
Does flaxseed oil give cats EPA and DHA?
No. Lenox (2016) states that cats make virtually no EPA from the plant omega-3 ALA, so flaxseed oil is not a source of EPA or DHA for a cat.
Page updated October 13, 2026. Label data is from manufacturer websites. This is not veterinary advice, and no veterinarian has reviewed it.