Zesty Paws salmon oil for dogs: the label numbers that are missing
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.
The Zesty Paws pages we checked describe Wild Alaskan oil and Omega Bites in marketing terms but print no EPA or DHA amounts for the oils or bacon chew, so we cannot give a figure per pump or for that chew. Without those numbers you cannot calculate a dose from the label or compare it with products that publish them.
This is a label-data review, not a test. We worked from Zesty Paws' own product pages (not retailer listings), in some places through search extracts of those pages because the maker's site blocked direct access, and recorded only what the maker states. The bottle itself may carry more than the website does. If you have one, check its Supplement Facts panel and trust it over this page.
What Zesty Paws sells in this category
Our catalog lists these Zesty Paws omega-3 products for dogs. One other Zesty Paws chew, the Chicken flavor of Omega Bites, is a partial exception and is covered below the table.
| Product | Form | Serving | EPA | DHA | EPA+DHA / serving | NASC seal | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zesty Paws Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil (pollock + salmon, 16 fl oz pump) | liquid | 1 pump | — | — | — | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Zesty Paws Wild Alaskan Fish Oil (pollock, pump) | liquid | 1 pump | — | — | — | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| Zesty Paws Omega Bites Soft Chews, Bacon (90 ct) | chew | 1 chew | — | — | — | — | Search on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
Label data from manufacturer websites and published label text, checked October 13, 2026. How we compare.
Every EPA, DHA and per-mL cell in the table above is a dash because we could not find those amounts on the maker's pages we read. The product page for the 32-ounce pump lists the oil as a blend of pollock oil and salmon oil, giving skin, coat and immune support as the purpose. Another page for a pump bottle calls it a Wild Alaskan pollock fish oil. The Omega Bites chew uses fish oil from wild Alaskan pollock, with cod liver oil. The product is called "salmon oil" in some places and "omega-3 blend" or "fish oil" in others.
The Chicken flavor, Zesty Paws Omega Bites Soft Chews, Chicken, is different: a search extract of a Zesty Paws bundle page lists 80 mg EPA and 25 mg DHA per chew, 105 mg combined. We did not confirm it on a direct page read, and the bacon flavor prints no figures, so do not assume the two flavors match.
Why a missing EPA/DHA number matters
"Fish oil" or "omega-3" on a front label says little about how much of the two fats dogs are usually given fish oil for. EPA and DHA are only part of the oil, and oils differ in how much of each they carry. Published dosing ranges for dogs are written in milligrams of combined EPA and DHA per kilogram of body weight. A board-certified veterinary nutritionist has published 50 to 75 mg per kg per day as a supplemental range for adult dogs, and the National Research Council set a safe upper limit of about 370 mg times body weight in kg to the 0.75 power. You cannot check either against a bottle that does not state its EPA and DHA.
That has three practical effects:
- You cannot calculate a serving. The label's "pumps by weight" table is the maker's guess, and we cannot test it against a published range. Our dosage calculator needs a figure it does not have for this product.
- You cannot compare it with other oils. Every other product on our ranked list shows EPA+DHA per serving and, for liquids, per mL. This one cannot be ranked, so it does not appear in rankings.
- You cannot tell a strong oil from a weak one. Liquids on our list differ a lot: Grizzly Pollock Oil (32 fl oz) lists 165 mg EPA+DHA per mL and Iceland Pure Premier Omega Oil for Large Dog Breeds (17 fl oz) lists 530 mg, more than three times as much, so a "pump" could mean very different things.
What is disclosed
- Source fish: Alaskan pollock, with salmon in the blend according to the maker. Fish named, but the share of each is not.
- Pump size: we could not find milliliters per pump on the pages we read, so we cannot convert a pump to mL.
- Ingredients: pollock oil, salmon oil and mixed tocopherols (a form of vitamin E used as a preservative), according to search extracts of the manufacturer page.
- NASC Quality Seal: not stated on the pages we read.
- Molecular form and third-party testing: not stated.
- Servings per container: not stated for the oils.
The same problem, across the category
Zesty Paws is not alone. Several other products also publish no EPA or DHA amounts. Here is every liquid or chew in our catalog with no published EPA and DHA, so you know which ones we cannot rank:
- Grizzly Krill Oil: the maker lists total phospholipid omega-3 but not separate EPA and DHA (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Iceland Pure Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil (33 fl oz): the maker lists total omega-3 but not separate EPA and DHA (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Native Pet Omega Oil (8 fl oz): the maker's supplement panel is an image and its text gives no EPA and DHA amounts (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Native Pet Sockeye Salmon Oil (8 fl oz): we could not find EPA and DHA amounts on the maker's website (checked 2026-10-13) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Natural Dog Company Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil: the maker's pages give marketing text only; the only EPA and DHA figures we saw came from a retailer listing (checked 2026-10-13) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- NaturVet Omega-Gold Soft Chews Plus Salmon Oil (dogs and cats): we could not read the maker's page; the only EPA and DHA figures we saw came from retailers (checked 2026-10-13) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Nutri-Vet Fish Oil for Dogs (liquid, menhaden, 16 fl oz): the label we found gives omega-3 only as percentages, not mg per serving (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Paramount Pet Health Omega-3 Fish Oil for Cats & Small Dogs (2 fl oz dropper): the maker's page does not state the dropper volume, and its figures match the per-teaspoon values of the larger bottle (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Pet Honesty Omega-3 Fish Oil for Dogs and Cats (32 fl oz): the maker's pages list conflicting EPA and DHA figures without a defined serving (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Pet Honesty Omega-3 Fish Oil Skin Health Chews (90 ct): we could not find EPA and DHA amounts on the maker's website (checked 2026-10-13) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Pet Honesty Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil (pollock + salmon, 32 fl oz): the maker's 32 oz and 96 oz pages list different EPA and DHA figures (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Pet Wellbeing Omega-3 Icelandic Fish Oil for Dogs (8 fl oz pump): serving size conflicts between the maker's dog and cat listings; not verified (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Vetoquinol Triglyceride OMEGA Liquid Pump (8 fl oz, dogs and cats): the maker lists total fish oil per serving but not EPA and DHA (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Vital Pet Life Fish Oil for Dogs and Cats (salmon + pollock, 64 fl oz): a search extract shows minimum EPA and DHA figures but the serving they apply to is unclear, and we could not open the maker page (checked 2026-10-13) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Vital Pet Life Salmon Oil for Dogs & Cats (32 fl oz): the published label figures are internally inconsistent (EPA and DHA exceed the stated total omega-3) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Zesty Paws Omega Bites Soft Chews, Bacon (90 ct): the maker's page gives no EPA and DHA amount per chew in the text we could read (checked 2026-10-13) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Zesty Paws Wild Alaskan Fish Oil (pollock, pump): we could not find EPA and DHA amounts on the maker's website (checked 2026-10-13) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
- Zesty Paws Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil (pollock + salmon, 16 fl oz pump): the maker's page gives marketing text without EPA and DHA amounts (checked 2026-10-13) (checked October 13, 2026), so we cannot rank it.
Who this might still suit, and who should look elsewhere
If your dog already does well on it and your veterinarian knows what you give, you have no reason to change because of a website. But if you want to give a specific amount of EPA and DHA, or compare brands, choose a product that prints them. For example, Nordic Naturals Omega-3 Pet (liquid, dogs) lists 248 mg per mL, and Grizzly Salmon Plus Oil (32 fl oz) lists 196 mg per mL. Our salmon oil guide shows more of these side by side, and the Grizzly review covers a pump-bottle brand that gives numbers.
If you want to stay with Zesty Paws, write to the company and ask for EPA and DHA in milligrams per pump, the milliliters per pump, and whether the product holds an NASC Quality Seal. That is a reasonable request, and a clear answer would let us update this page.
Product cards
Zesty Paws Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil (pollock + salmon, 16 fl oz pump)
- Form
- liquid
- Oil source
- fish blend
- Serving
- 1 pump
- EPA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- DHA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- EPA+DHA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- EPA+DHA per mL
- not found on the maker's website
- Servings per container
- not found on the maker's website
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
- Label dosing
- not found on the maker's website
Zesty Paws Wild Alaskan Fish Oil (pollock, pump)
- Form
- liquid
- Oil source
- pollock
- Serving
- 1 pump
- EPA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- DHA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- EPA+DHA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- EPA+DHA per mL
- not found on the maker's website
- Servings per container
- not found on the maker's website
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
- Label dosing
- not found on the maker's website
Zesty Paws Omega Bites Soft Chews, Bacon (90 ct)
- Form
- chew
- Oil source
- pollock
- Serving
- 1 chew
- EPA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- DHA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- EPA+DHA per serving
- not found on the maker's website
- Servings per container
- 90
- NASC Quality Seal
- not found on the maker's website
- Label dosing
- not found on the maker's website
Questions about Zesty Paws oil
Frequently asked questions
Is Zesty Paws Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil only salmon oil?
Not according to the maker's own pages. The product named salmon oil is described as a blend of pollock oil and salmon oil, and another page for a pump bottle describes pollock fish oil. The product names and descriptions are not consistent across pages.
How much EPA and DHA does Zesty Paws salmon oil have?
We could not find an EPA or DHA amount in milligrams on the Zesty Paws pages we checked, and one page was rate-limited when we tried to read it directly. If the numbers are printed in a Supplement Facts panel on the bottle, use those. Otherwise ask the maker for them in writing.
Read how we compare and omega-3 for dogs. Page updated October 13, 2026 by the PetFishOilGuide editorial team.